top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt Felton-Koestler

AMTE 2020: Three Lenses on Equity for Mathematics Content Teachers

Updated: Feb 10, 2020

I was invited by Maria del Rosario Zavala, on behalf of the equity committee, to present with Kim Seashore and Ksenija Simic-Muller at the annual conference of the Annual Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE). I haven't been part of many invited sessions, so this came together in a different way than I was used to, and it was great.


Kim and Ksenija shared their lenses, we did a shortened version of a task of mine (adapted from one of Ksenija's about crime rates in Reflecting the World), and then Kim and Ksenija discussed the task from their respective lenses. I found their perspectives to be extremely valuable.


Task materials (as used in my class, we simplified it for the presentation):



 
185 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Privilege and Oppression: Reverse Racism

This post is part 3 of 3 in a series responding to three questions from some students who read my post on privilege and oppression in math ed. This post addresses the third question: 3. Why does rever

bottom of page